jencamiccia.com
@jencamiccia

AGENT
Stacey Glick

WRITES
Contemporary

BOOKS
The Memory Keeper (10/15/19), Aladdin/Simon&Schuster

BIO
Jennifer Camiccia has lived in the wilds of Los Angeles, where she wrote her first book at the tender age of five; Iran, where she developed a fear of camels and a fondness for pistachios; Hawaii, with its balmy breezes and memories of learning to swim; and the San Francisco Bay Area, where she now lives with her children and husband.

Her debut Middle-grade, THE MEMORY KEEPER released October 15, 2019.

PUBLISHING BACKGROUND
I started getting serious about getting published in 2016 and entered a couple of first chapter contests. I eventually discovered twitter contests, and I was picked to be a mentee in Pitchwars. In the beginning of 2017 I signed with my agent and then went on submission with my YA book that I’d revised in Pitchwars and won the Golden Heart with. It was on sub for a year and during this time I wrote my first middle-grade novel. My agent and I decided to shelve my YA for now and concentrate on the MG. We went on sub with it the beginning of 2018 and it sold within a couple of weeks. The Memory Keeper came out in October and I have another book due out in the fall of 2020.

EXPERIENCE
I’m part of a critique group with some amazingly talented writers. They’ve helped my writing tremendously and I’ve learned so much about giving critique from them. I also have been a mentor in Teenpit for two years.

OVERVIEW
I learned so much from my very patient and talented Pitchwars mentor. I had no real idea on how to revise and she taught me so much. The writing community as a whole has been so generous with their advice and time with me. I really want to give back in some way and help another writer get to the next level in their writing career.

I’m drawn to contemporary middle-grade with heart. I’m also drawn to mysteries, siblings, best friends, quests, intergenerational, dealing with loss in a way that helps the character process it.

MENTORING GENRES
Middle Grade

  • Contemporary
  • Sci-Fi
  • Mystery/Thriller

I love light sci-Fi in the vein of Lost In Space or When You Reach Me. I also love a good mystery–bonus points if I can’t guess how it will end.

I WILL PROVIDE:

  • Edit Letter (Big Picture developmental feedback)
  • Line edit (dropping notes into a Word Document)

WORKING STYLE
I will start with Big Picture development and then move on the line edits once the overall story is in the best shape possible.

IDEAL MENTEE
A hard worker who is committed to making changes if needed. Someone who is kind on social media is respectful to others.

SEND ME:
I’d love something that tackles big emotions but in a way that’s accessible to a middle-grade reader. I also love mysteries or something that surprises me. Some of my favorite MG books are When You Reach Me, The Thing About Jellyfish, The Benefits of Being an Octopus, Ann of Green gables, Fish in a Tree, The Story That Cannot Be Told, Ruby In The Sky, The True History of Lyndie B. Hawkins, Planet Earth is Blue, The Tales of Despereaux, The One and Only Ivan.

DO NOT SEND ME:
Nothing with magic or ghosts.

FAVES
I love Ann of Green gables but refuse to watch Anne with an E, my favorites are Pride and Prejudice (both series and movie are acceptable) and The Princess Bride (both the book and the movie). I love the new Disney Plus and am binge watching all things Star Wars. They also have new movies like Togo that made me cry (in a good way). Some other movies and shows I love are the Toy Story movies, Gilmore Girls, Veronica Mars, Firefly, Kate&Leopold.